Alton Paas: Inspiring the young, disabled and just about everyone else around him.

Awareness, Non-Profit, People

No, I’m not going to talk to you about the foundation. I’m going to talk to you about an incredibly ambitious and talented young man, that despite his accident and injury still finds a way to brighten even the darkest of days. I am, of course, talking about Alton Paas from Fundashon Alton Paas (FAP)

I know Alton since I was about 14 years old (I know, right? Wow). We met online and we hit it off right away. We used to spend hours chatting about silly stuff, just laughing the night away. Or we’d meet at the school gate, since our schools were next to each other, and catch up once in a blue moon. But then of course, times change, people grow, highschool ends and you resort to simple chitter-chatter on Kitatin (oef!) and nowadays Facebook. Luckily our friendship has survived through the years and we still manage to keep in touch.

Alton suffered a spinal cord injury a few years back, due to a car accident he found himself in because of a heart problem (Wolf Parkinson White Syndrome). I’m not gonna lie. I was incredibly freaked out when I heard that he is now dependent on a wheelchair. But when I spoke to him, my worries quickly went away. He sounded so tranquil, so… okay. Unbelievable, to be honest. He accepted it and grabbed the situation with both hands. With the support of his lovely family (really, they’re cool) he started Fundashon Alton Paas and is now helping others with similar injuries overcome they’re new disabilities and live life to the fullest.

This guy isn’t even 25 and he’s already organized successful fundraisers, traveled and went to therapy bootcamps that I don’t think even I could handle and even has a TV show. How awesome is that‽ He coaches others, inspires hundreds and keeps finding new ways to use his charisma to find ways to help others.
Alton is always smiling, always has a positive and is overall an eternally uplifting soul. Curaçao… watch out! There’s no escaping his reign of confidence and ambition.

Till this day Alton cheers me up on a frequent basis. He’s just great to be around. I mean look at that smile! How can you not feel better when you see him, undettered by the many obstacles he has faced in the passed years, is still vibrant, confident and indcredibly funny and positive.

Alton, I know we might not be the best of friends or even talk all the time, but know that I consider you a real inspiration and admire all you do and know that there are (even more) GREAT things coming your way. Thank you for being so frickin’ awesome!

P.S. Visit Fundashon Alton Paas’ website and learn more about the foundation, their KIA support group or to become a FAPiano (a FAP volunteer).

 

We'd love to hear your opinion

